Summer School Clay

From 8-10am, my art class has students going into 4th, 5th and 6th grades. from 10am-12pm, I have students going into 1st, 2nd and 3rd grades. This mix of ages has been interesting. Along with that, sometimes I have both classes do the same project and other times different projects.

For clay, I had the older class pick their project and gave them skills to work off of. For the younger class, I had them all make rattles.

Here is a dragon from a boy going into 4th grade.

And a birdhouse from a girl going into 4th grade.

Sadly, the rest of the clay projects were not finished.

I don’t think our district has ever canceled school because of heat before! But it has truly been unbearable in the classroom and the students have been experiencing many heat related headaches and stomachaches. It is between 95 and 100 degrees in our classrooms! No, we don’t have air conditioning. So I am happy that our school board decided to cancel school for the rest of the week. But, that also means that we missed out on the last two days of class. I get a new group for the second three weeks of summer school starting Monday. So, now I have a group of unpainted clay projects from the older group. I wish I would have pushed them to finish them last week!

Anyway, the younger group only has 3 students who didn’t paint theirs. The rest are finished.

And they all work! (meaning they all make noise)

2 thoughts on “Summer School Clay

  1. Looks like fun! Are most of the kids from your school or do they come from other schools in the district? I was so bummed when I found out MSCR cancelled their classes for the rest of the week! My little toddler is taking a Jumping Jellybeans class and a Science Exploration. We had to miss the first week because she was sick. I can see why though, if some of the locations don’t have air conditioning.

    • None of my summer school students are Randall students but they all come from MMSD. I’m super grateful they canceled school this week. It was torture watching those kids in the classroom! It was at least 10 degrees hotter in the classroom than it is outside.

Leave a Reply

