Summer School – Pablo Picasso

20120624-210422.jpg

This year I am teaching Art Expressions at Marquette Elementary. Last year I taught Recycle It! at Marquette. I wasn’t sure want to do this year for projects so I began by doing circle paintings on the bulletin boards while we discussed what they wanted to do. I have two classes Monday through Friday for two sessions of 3 weeks. One class is 8-10am with students going into 4th, 5th and 6th grades. The second class is 10-12pm with students going into 1st, 2nd and 3rd grades. I made a list of what each class wanted to do and planned out their three week are experience from there. I figure that this is a summer school art class. Students are choosing to be in my class and I shouldn’t MAKE them do any project they don’t want to do. This is THEIR art experience, through and through. If a student doesn’t want to do the project we are doing that day, they can free draw or come up with an independent art project to work on. The first week of summer school is done and this has been working out really well.

The lower elementary art students requested a Pablo Picasso project so we read the World’s Greatest Artist book about him, looked at some of his works and then created monochromatic self portraits in the style of Picasso.

20120624-210944.jpg

20120624-211017.jpg

20120624-211051.jpg

Leave a Reply

