This is what democracy looks like!

ne·go·ti·ate

negotiate pronunciation /nɪˈgoʊʃiˌeɪt/ Show Spelled [ni-goh-shee-eyt] Show IPA verb, -at·ed, -at·ing.

–verb (used without object)

to deal or bargain with another or others, as in the preparation of a treaty or contract or in preliminaries to a business deal.

I wanted to share my students’ experience from this last week at the Capitol.  This is the best civics lesson life could have taught them!  I just want to say, I feel the love.

Randall Father/Daughter pair.

The first Randall handmade sign I saw.  I believe this was earlier on, maybe Tuesday the 15th?

Gompers kindergartner.

Super clever and creative 3rd grader.  One side has the Super Mario Bros.  They are plumbers of course and represent the world.  The other side is a drawing of Scott Walker with a cheese lightening bolt hitting him.  Ultimately it is the world vs Scott Walker. (Stuart, let me know if I got this right!)

More handmade Randall signs!

He dyed his hair red in solidarity. Made me giggle!

Whole Randall family!

Student protester before school in front of Gompers.

This is a picture of two Randall 5th graders writing out what they were going to say when they testified. When they came up to me and told me they signed up to speak, I almost didn’t believe them.

But they did it!  They testified!

Here they are, speaking their minds!  I am so unbelievably proud of these girls.  I protested with Jesse Jackson, hugged Senator Lena Taylor, spent 75 hours at the Capitol including sleeping in the Capitol twice but this was BY FAR my favorite moment of the week.  These girls made me cry with pride.  This was very scary but as they told me when they asked me to testify later, courage is being afraid and doing it anyway.

I am torn about going back to school tomorrow. As another MMSD art teacher said,” I miss my students. I miss teaching art. I want to return to work. I love my job. It is the hardest work I have ever done and it is also the most honorable and rewarding.  But, I have to do the right thing. The whole country, and much of the world, is watching Wisconsin.  History is in the making. Righteousness must prevail.”

But I go back tomorrow knowing that I can look in my students’ faces, knowing I did everything I could this last week to fight for their futures.  And I will continue to fight.

Want more information about what is going on in Wisconsin?

Rachel Maddow’s history lesson

What former Sen Feingold has to say

Video of visuals

Why I Love Sen Lena Taylor

Public Service Workers Under Attack

Coming Soon to Your State

What happened the last time a governor called the National Guard?

World-wide coverage

Speaking truth

Why 14 Senators had to leave Wisconsin for democracy

 

Leave a Reply

