Art Ideas for Winter Break

Don’t stop creating just because you aren’t in the art room!  Try some of these great ideas:

Outside:

-Snow Painting

Snow Snake

-study snowflakes like Snowflake Bentley

Ice Hanging

Snow Sculpture

Inside:

-Box City – your own Terrace Town!

Materials:  Empty cardboard containers, large and small (cereal, cracker, toothpaste, beverage, toilet paper, paper towel, poster rolls)  Glue

By gluing boxes together, you can make any kind of building: wide like a supermarket, tall like a tower, or stacked like a skyscraper.  Add other cardboard containers to make chimneys, tunnels and balconies.  To make your first building, glue two sides together and wrap rubber bands around them or lay them under a book.  While that part is drying, build another section of the city.  When the parts are dry, you can glue them together for one big city block or move them around to change the city.  Do you know what every building is?

– Double drawing

Materials: Thick paper (tagboard or manilla folder), Dark Crayons, Dull Points (paperclip, pen caps, broken pencils)

Color big shapes with crayons, covering the whole board.  Unbend a paperclip or take another point, and draw lines over the crayon.  Draw faces, or decorations (like webs), or texture (like waves or clouds).  When the scratch drawing is done, you have two pictures in one.

– Snow Dome

Materials:  Small jar, cleaned.  Very small plastic figure.  Super glue, model glue or nail polish.  Eggshells, cleaned.  Several sheets of newspaper.  Can or rolling pin.

Squirt a blob of glue o the inside of the jar lid and set the figure in it.  Leave it alone for five hours to dry.  Spread the eggshells between the newspaper sheets.  Crush them to tiny bits by rolling a can over them.  Slide or spoon the shells into the jar, then add water almost to the top.  Squirt glue around the inside rim of the lid, and screw it on the jar.  Dry it with the lid up.  Turn it over and shake your snow!

– Little Loom

Materials: Shoebox, Scissors, Yarn, Tape, Stringlike Material (ribbon, tinsel, rags), Paper (comics, notebook), Spoon, Glue

Make V-shaped nicks along both short ends of the box.  Stretch yarn from one short end to the other, around the nicks, making a sort of a harp.  Tape down the loose ends.  Cut thin strips of fabric or paper as long as the box is wide.  Weave them across the yarn harp, over one strand, under the next.  After four rows, press the strands tight with a spoon.  Weave across the whole box.  Dab glue across the rug and press the box lid over it.  Flip the box, and gently pull off the loops.  Cut off the extra cardboard and press the rug against its backing once more.

– Paper Bowl

Materials: Vaseline, Old ball, Newspaper, 1 cup white flour, 1 tbsp salt, Disposable bowl or Plastic container, Crepe paper

Smear Vaseline on half the ball and sit it sticky side up.  Rip the newspaper into small pieces.  Mix the flour and salt in a bowl.  Drip in one cup of water and stir until it’s soupy.  Dunk a paper patch in the gluey soup, squeeze off the extra, and lay it on the greasy part of the ball.  Keep patching until you cover almost half the ball, and then paste several layers over each other until the covering gets thick.  Add crepe paper patches for color.  Leave it a day or more, until it’s dry, then pry your bowl off the ball.

Around Madison:

– the new Madison Children’s Museum has lots of fun things planned including lots of art projects!

– the Aldo Leopold Center has Vacation Day programs available.

Madison Public Libraries also have many programs available.

– Check out Kids in the Rotunda at the Overture Center


Have a wonderful winter break and I will see you all on January 3rd!

Go Badgers!! Rose Bowl 2011!  ( Had to put this in here : ) )

5 thoughts on “Art Ideas for Winter Break

  1. Lately I have debated whether to put my blog on my school email signature. I saw someone who put it as “My Professional Blog” at the end of of their email. As of now, my blog has simply been for art teachers to connect, not necessarily a place for parents, but your post got me thinking it may be beneficial for them to understand and know what is going on in the art room, even if the blog is not tailored to showcase “Johnny’s” work. What do you think?

    • I really appreciate your blog. It has a lot of great professional information and I see your blog as a professional resource. I think the art ed blogs out there fit in many categories: professional development (yours), tell-it-like-it-is (Art Teachers Hate Glitter), lesson sharing between art educators (MANY good ones), and art ed blogs aimed at reaching school communities.

      As much as I love that art educators have created a place to tell it like it is, I’ve decided that I’d like to use my blog as an art advocacy tool for my specific classroom. I’ve discovered that the more I talk to parents, classroom teachers and administrators, the more I realize they really don’t have a clue what goes on inside my classroom. They don’t know that I teach science, math, history and geography with art. They don’t know about the problem solving and teamwork. They don’t know about my teaching theories at all. They don’t know, until I tell them. I think it’s important for parents, classroom teachers and administrators to see what goes on inside my classroom. The more they know, the more support the arts will receive. More support equals more opportunity for my students. I guess I see this blog as my quiet, don’t-ruffle-the-feathers voice to my district.

      • I love your platform with your blog and your clarity in purpose. I am teaching an online class this summer on blogging for educators and this is the FIRST thing I will have my students do! Decide on a purpose for their blog. As long as your blog says what you want it to say, to WHO you want to say it to, then you are doing great! Thanks for your insight. I think we are totally on the same page as far as wanting to be professional, and wanting to be a resource. Keep up the fabulous things- You rock, girl!

        PS: If you want to start a blog roll in WordPress, you just go into your Widgets and there is one called “Links”- You can add your links and title it what you wish. It will appear on the side bar if you drag it over. Hope it helps!

        Jessica Balsley

    • Since the blog is new this year (and I was new last year), I think it’s going to take awhile for parents to use the blog as a resource. However, I know I have a few parents who really appreciate the blog now. I am hoping that number grows!!

Leave a Reply

